Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Purpose

When a staff member leaves employment at your library, you have different options to remove their access, depending on how your library wants to manage the process.

  1. Delete their user record (as of Honeysuckle (R3 2020) only available through the API - see UXPROD-2388 - Getting issue details... STATUS for the status of the feature to delete a user through the UI)
  2. Remove all permissions assigned to their user record, and if they were using the Check out or Check in app, remove associated service points.
  3. Make their user record inactive.
  4. Expire their user record.

Permissions

Relevant permissions for this workflow include:

  • Users: Can assign and unassign permissions to users
  • Users: Can assign and unassign service points to users
  • Users: Can edit user profile

UX/UI

User Permissions and Service Points are on the User record. 

They are each in their own accordion, located towards the bottom of the user record.

Searching

As of Honeysuckle (R32020,) the Users app does not provide any functionality for searching by service points or permissions through the UI, and no such functionality is planned.

Functional workflows

Remove Permissions:

  1. Locate the user's record in the Users App
  2. From the user record, select Action → Edit
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the user record and open the Permissions accordion
  4. Click the black x at the right of each permission to remove it from the user record.

  5. Click "Save & Close" in the bottom right to save your changes.

Remove Service Points

  1. Locate the user's record in the Users App
  2. From the user record, select Action → Edit
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the user record and open the Service Points accordion
  4. Click the black x at the right of each assigned Service Point to remove it from the user record.



  5. Click "Save & Close" in the bottom right to save your changes.

Inactivate a User:

  1. Locate the user's record in the Users App
  2. From the user record, select Action → Edit
  3. In the User Information accordion, change the Status field from Active to Inactive. 
  4. Click "Save & Close" in the bottom right to save your changes.

Note that making a user inactive removes their ability to log into FOLIO, but there is no current way to prevent an inactive user from being reactivated by another FOLIO user with the appropriate permissions.

Expire a User Record:

  1. Locate the user's record in the Users App
  2. From the user record, select Action → Edit
  3. In the User Information accordion, change the expiration date to a date in the past.
  4. Click "Save & Close" in the bottom right to save your changes.

Note that making a user record expired also sets their status as Inactive. There is no current way to prevent an expired user from being reactivated by another FOLIO user with the appropriate permissions.

Reporting

There are no built-in reports in the Users app to show permissions or service points assigned to a user.

Integrations

Associated API documentation:

Considerations for Implementation


  • No labels